Skip to main content
Dai John

Professor Dai John

Professor of Pharmacy and Dean of Undergraduate Studies, College of Biomedical and Life Sciences

School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences


I am currently Professor of Pharmacy in the School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and also Dean for Undergraduate Studies within the College of Biomedical and Life Sciences (BLS) at Cardiff University,


  • 1985 BPharm (First Class Honours), University of Wales.
  • 1986 Member, Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain
  • 1991 PhD, University of Wales 
  • 1994 LLM (Legal Aspects of Medical Practice), University of Wales 
  • 2000 Diploma in Methods & Applications of Social Research, Cardiff School of Social Sciences, Cardiff University
  • 2002 Fellow, HEA (AdvanceHE)
  • 2009 Designated Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain
  • 2009 Practical Leadership for University Management award (ILM endorsed award)
  • 2013 Fellow of the Faculty, RPS

















Completed PhD Students

Sisira Donsamak with Marjorie Weiss - Exploring factors that influence the supply and use of antibiotics from community pharmacies in Thailand

Bethan Broad with Louise Hughes & Sion Coulman - An exploratory study of pharmacy graduate preparedness for preregistration training

Pei Nee Wong with Louise Hughes & Rhian Deslands - A mixed methods approach for assessing student and staff perceptions and experiences of a new collaborative transnational pharmacy programme

Hank Du with Roger Walker - Evaluation of the contribution of OTC medicine sales data to public health protection

Salah Waheedi with Roger Walker - Role of the community pharmacist in vascular risk assessment

Lynne Bollington - Pharmacy education & training capacity within the NHS trusts in Wales

Mohammed Inaam Haq with James Birchall - Evaluation of clinical application of micro-needle devices

Rhian Deslandes with David Luscombe - The role of the pharmacist as a supplementary prescriber

Ruth Rodgers - Pharmaceutical ethics and professional discipline

Emma Jones with David Luscombe - The management of health and illness - a qualitative study of men

Sean McAteer with David Luscombe- Evaluation of pharmacy graduates’ perceptions and experiences of the pre-registration year

Jane Frankland with Mick Bloor - Lay knowledge, self-care and use of community pharmacy

Stuart Wyn Evans with David Luscombe and Mick Bloor - Investigation and evaluation of advice offered to the public by community pharmacists

PhD  External Examining Appointments:

Professor John has examined over 20 doctoral theses.


External examiner appointments - taught programmes


  • Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland (MPharm)


  • University of Strathclyde (MPharm)
  • Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland (PSNI)
  • Trinity College Dublin (BSc Pharmacy)
  • University College Cork (MSc in Clinical Pharmacy)
  • Keele University (MPharm)
  • Queen's University, Belfast (MPharm)
  • University of London (UCL-Birbeck, Fd)
  • Aston University (PG Overseas Pharmacist Assessment Programme)
  • Aston University (MSc schemes in Clinical Pharmacy & Pharmacy Practice)
  • University of Nottingham (MPharm)
  • University of Bradford (MPharm)
  • The Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen (MSc in Clinical Pharmacy)


Scientific & Professional Service:

  • Pharmacist, General Pharmaceutical Council registered
  • Member, Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee
  • Member, International Pharmacy Federation (FIP)
  • Member, Academic Pharmacy Section FIP
  • Member, Welsh Pharmaceutical Committee
  • Fellow, HEA (AdvanceHE)
  • Fellow, Royal Pharmaceutical Society, RPS (FRPharmS)
  • Fellow of the Faculty of RPS (FFRPS)
  • Editorial Board Member, International Journal of Pharmacy Practice (IJPP)
  • Formerly, Vice-Presudent, Academic Pharmacy Section, FIP
  • Formerly, Member, Board of Pharmaceutical Practice, FIP
  • Formerly, Member Fitness to Practise Committee, General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC)
  • Formerly, Member Disciplinary Committee RPSGB
  • Formerly, Member Statutory Committee RPSGB
  • Formerly, Member, All-Wales Multi Research Ethics Committee